World Building: Eliador Weaponry

In my attempt to do things relevant to my novel, other than writing my novel like I should be, I decided to design weaponry for Eliador, a town in Newhaven (TWO NAMES, I’VE BEEN ON FIRE!). This is the hometown of three of my five main characters.

Due to having no official army, weapons are made on demand, with anyone able to pay a blacksmith for their skills. However, there is a town guard, who use this. None of the settlements on Newhaven have ever been at war, but guards are necessary for law enforcement, and also for fighting/defending against tribes that roam the open expanses.

Also, bows, spears and axes are popular as they can be used when hunting. Swords are less common for commoners, but used in the town guard.

I am an awful artist, but I’d say I have above average skill on Photoshop, so I used that to create the designs:

Image

Green and white are the town colours of Eliador, and the chequered look emblazons its flags/standards. Everything is fairly simple due to costs. Most of the cities on Newhaven are ‘free cities’, with no tax. You earn money through effort and trade. If you want say a sword, then you go chop some wood, and sell it. Their is a chief/head of the town, as men are made to follow, and need a leader.

Due to provision of Iron and cost, plate armour isn’t used, instead a lighter leather alternative is used. Those with enough money often buy chainmail.

I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

