NaNoWriMo

I’ve decided that I’m going to give NaNoWriMo a go.

I’ll be working on the novel I’ve already been working on, which has about three completed chapters written. However, after much procrastination, I realise they will need complete re-writes, so I’m effectively starting from scratch.

Over the next month, I’m going to work hard on chapter outlines, names and world building so that I can write at the speed of light come November.

The goal is to write 50,000 words, which won’t be the full novel. Although it won’t be a finished novel, probably about half of a novel, I think we can all agree 50,000 words would be significant progress from three about to be scrapped chapters.

The goal I have in my head for my finished novel is 80,000 – 100,000  words, which I think is a good length – not too long, not too short.

If I make huge progress this month and a writing fever sets in, I may cheat and start writing before November 1st. But even if I did that, I would still aim to write 50,000 words in November.

It’s an exciting prospect, I feel like a five year old on a friday at school at 3:30pm.

http://nanowrimo.org/about

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo”

  1. You’ve got a good point there: do some preliminary work so you can just sit down and write come November. I’ll try that, too.

Leave a Reply

