Starting University

Tomorrow I fly out the nest to university. Poo the bed.

I’d say I’m 64% nervous, 32% excited, and 4% bad stomach. Although I’m studying nothing to do with Creative Writing (Science and Football), I’ll have a lot of ‘me’ time, so I think this will be beneficial to my writing pursuits.

I’ve seen a mock up timetable for my course, and it would give me plenty of free time. I’m also not a huge drinker, so I’ll have a few nights in on my own.

I’ll try and push on with my current work in progress, but I’m also going to start planning for a novella I want to write.

It is about a boy growing up in a matriarchal society. I was inspired by a comment on a post about feminism on Yahoo. The person said that men are pointless, and all that is needed is their ‘seed’, and that one day science will artificially create sperm and men will become an endangered species. So I thought it would be an interesting dynamic to write about a probably medieval society where men are brought up with no education, rights etc, get a girl pregnant, see the child born (in case of problems with the birth), and is then killed. I think it would be an interesting twist on modern society. Also, it will inevitably grow into a love story.

“But I love him.”

“But he’s a boy.”

“But I love him.”

“He’ll be dead next year.”

*Couple runs away together.*

So yeah. I’m looking forward to the next chapter in the book of Alex Wells’ life. I’m sure it will be excellent.

Leave a Reply

