I’m Back!

Hello world, I am back from my blogging sabbatical.Image

I took a break to focus on my final exams, and then to do some writing. Exams are done. Any writing done? Not much, but more than before. I have all these ideas swirling around my head, but when I go to write them down, it just isn’t the same. Also, the dialogue just doesn’t seem right, which it needs to, as the first few chapters of one character are about court intrigue, negotiation and intimidation/threats through subtle language. Also, my descriptions are terrible.

But, some things are going well. I’ve wrote more, and I’m currently writing more. And, I’ve learned a few things:

  1. When I put my mind to it, I can do it, and when I revise the chapter I’ve wrote, it always improves 100%, which is nice…
  2. I’ve realised I’m a gardener, not an architect like I originally thought. I planned everything out, but as I’ve mentally gone over my plot, I found holes and corrected them, and now I just write scenes. I look at the previous chapter, and think: ‘this character is cunning, and has everything planned out. What would he do next?’, and then I write it. I know how the book (or series if I get that far) ends for my major characters, but I’m not sure how they get there. Now I know their personalities, I have a firm idea of how they reach the end, or fall before the end. The fun has been in the journey so far.
  3. I still can’t name anything. All characters should just be known as character one, character two, etc. My life would be easier. I’m fine at naming minor characters, I enjoy it actually, but I still don’t have names for 3 of my 5 main characters. Sigh.

I’m getting there. The sample chapter I posted has changed, and will change more, and I’ll post more as I write more and have more to talk about.

I leave you with this. I’m a DIY professional. Any offers?

Image

Leave a Reply

