My Views On ‘God’ and Religion.

I never really paid much attention to any arguments for and against God until I was in Year 11. God didn’t exist. “Prove to me he does” I’d say. But I enjoyed Religious Education in that year and took it at A Level, and my views have been changed.

As I’ve said, I didn’t believe in God, but now I’m unsure. My view: I don’t believe in a God, but I don’t not believe in a God either. You can’t prove he exists, but you can’t prove he doesn’t either… If I had to choose, I’d probably sit in the ‘doesn’t exist camp’, because I think Science will keep discovering new things. But I don’t agree with evolution entirely. The survival of the fittest, natural selection, adapt to survive part makes sense to me. However, lets take the human stomach. There is a mucus lining that stops the acids in the stomach effectively digesting itself. So what happened before this developed? Were there countless generations of humans that died almost immediately after death? No. I’m not an expert on evolution in any form and haven’t read ‘The Origin of Species’, but this leads me to believe there is a form of intelligent design. I certainly don’t believe in a God that constantly monitors the Earth and loves and creates each individual human.

I’m certainly more inclined to believe in a God than to follow any religion. The only form of religion/philosophy that has some parts I agree with is Buddhism, live life in a happy and virtuous way until you reach Nirvana. Also, I love the concept of Karma. Karl Marx said that, “Religion is a tool used by the people in power to control the people who are not in power”, or something along those lines. I agree with this. Religion is a clever tool to be fair, telling people that no mater how poo their lot is in this life, they’ll be rewarded in the afterlife by a God who loves them – a God who will punish them if they step out of line. I think it is the ontological argument which says that ‘God’ can’t be put into words, and I agree. I’m skeptical of religious experience, so I’m skeptical of the foundations of religion. As Richard Dawkins says, religion is a meme embedded in human culture and it survives.

Jesus wasn’t the son of God I don’t think, but it’s just my opinion. I don’t agree with the Bible, I think most of it is bull and some parts are contradictory. It’s all to convenient. Also, all religious texts should have been made clear, the amount of people who have died or suffered due to an interpretation of for example the Bible will be disgusting. the Catholic Church bans contraception in Africa and claims ‘condoms cause HIv/AIDS’, based on sex being for reproduction, but surely the safety, health and well being of the followers of their church should come first…

The problem of evil and suffering discredits the Christian God in my opinion. Free Will or not, an omni-benevolent God cannot allow some of the atrocious acts that occur in this world, yet they still occur. Heaven and Hell are silly concepts, as God created us, he’s omniscient – he knows what we’ll do before we do it, so how can he judge us? And the whole concept of purgatory…

If people have a religion they strongly believe in, fair enough, I’m envious, I wish I followed something which made me believe that humans have a real purpose in life, but the logical part of my skeptical mind says it isn’t right. The only way I’ll truly believe in a God is if I meet my maker after death, and then I’ll greet him with open arms.

To conclude, I’m neither here nor there with a belief in a God, but I agree it is possible. However, I’m critical of religion. It has its benefits, but I just don’t agree with most of it.

Thank you for reading.

3 thoughts on “My Views On ‘God’ and Religion.”

  1. I find it interesting that you say this! I’m not here to argue or tell you that you’re wrong or be some radical Christian and say that you’re going to hell for believing in what you do… but one thing that I do tell people are on the fence about believing in God is that you literally have nothing to lose by believing. Feel what I’m sayin? I mean, I consider myself a Christian, but I don’t follow any particular religion. Religion is just a set of rules, traditions, and customs that congregations pick from the Bible to say that they are the “true” religion of God and/or Jesus. Some people use science to explain what God did and some thing Christianity, God, Jesus, is all a bunch of bull.

    The way I see things is that there are things that are completely unexplainable. Science can’t explain it, philosophy can’t explain it, and psychology can’t explain it. When you have nothing else to put your faith in, what do you have to lean on? For me, it’s God, Jesus.

    If there is a God, then I’d wrather have put all o fmy eggs in that basket than not putting anything in there and going to hell. Just a thought 🙂

    1. Yeah I completely agree, we did that in school, the only way to be sure is to follow Gods rules, because if he’s real, you go to heaven, and if he isn’t then at least you lived a virtuous life.

      I think I’ll edge my bets and go against it, but if I was giving advice out, I’d say the same as you. I guess I don’t always practice what I preach!

Leave a Reply

