My Favourite Songs Ever:

Hello again. I planned to do a list of my ten favourite songs, but it was incredibly hard to do. Unlike with films, there are so many songs that could feature on my list after number five… So I’ll do five for today.

First off, I’ll tell you all about my music taste. I don’t have a music taste. All types of music appeal to me, with the exception of Metal/Screamo…

A quick search through my iTunes tells me that the most songs I have are Alternative/Rock, Rap and Pop. A bit of a variation. It all depends on my mood. Sometimes I feel like listening to Coldplay all evening and crying inside, but sometimes an evening of Pavarotti is more appealing. My favourite bands are probably Foo Fighters, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Coldplay, but none of their songs are on my list, their albums just have the most songs on I enjoy. Today was a Rap day, with Dr Dre’s ‘The Next Episode’ and Lloyd Banks’ ‘Beamer, Benz or Bentley’ on repeat, I hate to admit… Right, on with the list:

5: Lover of the Light – Mumford and Sons.

This was the hardest position to place, there were so many songs that could fit here, with Pink’s ‘Try’ the closest to breaking into the top five. I love the feel of Mumford’s songs, especially this one. I like the lyrics, and my favourite songs generally have lyrics which touch me or inspire me. Calms me down as well, not that I’m an angry person (except when Newcastle are playing)…

4. Hall of Fame – The Script ft. will.i.am.

I’ve never really liked The Script, my opinion on them had always been indifferent, but I love this song. It inspires me enough, but not enough to make me stop pigging out unfortunately… “You can be a master, don’t wait for luck…” – I’ll try Mr will.i.am sir.

3. Apologize – OneRepublic ft. Timbaland.

I love it for similar reasons to number 5 if I’m honest, but it has been out longer, and I can still listen to it over and over, which is a good sign!

2. This City – Patrick Stump ft. Lupe Fiasco.

I heard this song whilst watching The Super Bowl on Sky Sports two years ago, Googled the lyrics I heard, and I’ve loved it ever since. Despite not living in a city myself, it just makes me love my hometown, despite the lack of things to do… I really liked Fall Out Boy, and it took me until researching this to realize they’d broken up and this was the lead singer… Close to being my favourite song and not too many people I know have heard of it, so youtube it and enjoy it as much as I do!

*Drum Roll*

1. Empire State of Mind – Jay-Z ft. Alicia Keys

It just inspires me more than any other song. Shame there are a lot less opportunities where I live than New York, but still, it inspires me to chase my dreams and be the best I can be. He’s great. She’s great. Perfect combination.

Near Misses: 

  • Try – Pink
  • We Are Young – Fun
  • Numb/Encore – Linkin Park/Jay-Z
  • Paradise – Coldplay
  • The Scientist – Coldplay

My favourite line from a song that came to my head whilst typing this:

“Where there is desire, there is gonna be a flame, where there is a flame someone’s bound to get burned, but just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die, you’ve gotta get up and try.” – The Chorus of ‘Try’ by Pink.

And I leave you on that note, thank you for reading, what are your favourite songs?

One thought on “My Favourite Songs Ever:”

  1. My favorite songs currently (they change every month or so :D) Not in order of favorites…I would never be able to decide!

    1. Hero – Enrique Iglesias

    2. Hips Don’t Lie – Shakira

    3. One, Two Step – Ciara

    4. Who’s That Chick – David Guetta

    5. Boyfriend – Justin Bieber (I am ashamed of myself…and I am not a fan of Justin Bieber, It just happens that I like this song)

    6. I Knew You Were Trouble – Taylor Swift

    7. E.T – Katy Perry

    8. Pour Some Sugar on Me – Def Leppard

    9. Over My Head (Cable Car) – The Fray

    10. Stereo Hearts – Gym Class Heroes

    One of my past favorite favorites was Apologize – One Republic I still listen to it a lot 😀

Leave a Reply

